2025 Community Recognition Awards



Facing Challenges Together

The core objective of the Wilderness Risk Management Conference (WRMC) is to offer an outstanding educational experience to help outdoor program practitioners mitigate the risks inherent in exploring, working, teaching, and recreating in wild places. Each year the WRMC recognizes outstanding contributions in two areas..

Timeline

Nominations Open/Close - 5/15/2025 to 7/1/2025 (Links to nomination forms are below) Award Recipients Announced - 7/15/2025. Awardees will be honored in person at the conference.

Benefits

Recipients will be announced through WRMC communications and social media and will receive a complimentary conference registration for the award winner, lodging for one night, and two guest passes to the Award Ceremony.

WRMC Innovation Award	Charles 'Reb' Gregg Leadership Award
The Innovation in Wilderness Risk Management Award recognizes an individual or organization whose work reflects emerging ideas or practices that shape or extend the future of wilderness risk management. The recipient demonstrates a progressive approach with the potential to transform how risk is understood and managed across the broader outdoor and adventure sector.	Named in honor of Charles 'Reb' Gregg, this award celebrates exceptional leadership, service, and dedication to advancing the field of wilderness risk management. The recipient has demonstrated long-term commitment, deep mentorship, and leadership that has led to lasting, systemic improvements in how risk is addressed across outdoor and adventure programming.
Selection criteria: Demonstrate commitment to the WRMC community and commitment to collaborative learning. Contributed recent professional innovation of thought or practice, such as approaches, research, tools, or techniques, that have the potential to evolve wider thinking and practice across the outdoor risk management field. Demonstrated recent programmatic or organizational change resulting from that innovation that has the potential to influence the profession across the greater WRMC community. Impacts are emergent but show promise of broader influence. Previous Recipients COST CJ Goulding	Selection Criteria: Demonstrated sustained leadership and long-term service to the profession. Significant contributions to the evolution of standards, policies, legal frameworks, institutional knowledge, and practices. Embodies a spirit of mentorship and service to future generations of leaders. Recognized for contributions that have had a lasting and broad impact on the outdoor and adventure programming industry. Previous Recipients 2024 - Jeff Jackson 2017 - Shana Tarter 2023 - Dr. Nina Roberts 2016 - Jay A. Satz 2022 - Cathay Hansen-Stamp 2015 - Dr. David Johhson 2021 - Laura McGladrey 2014 - Ross Cloutier 2020 - Sara Souza 2013 - Drew Leemon 2019 - Aparna Rajagopol 2012 - Deb Ajango 2018 - Dr. Clare Dallat 2011 - Lewis Glenn
Nomination form for Innovation Award	Nomination form for Reb Gregg Leadership Award