NOLS: National Outdoor Leadership School Home
  Wilderness Risk Management Conference
    About the WRMC
    Call for Proposals
    College Credit
    Committee Members
    Conference Sessions
    Resource Center
    Travel & Lodging
    WRMC Blog
    WRMC on YouTube
  Contact Us

Charles (Reb) Gregg Wilderness Risk Management Award


The Charles (Reb) Gregg Wilderness Risk Management Award is an annual award given at the Wilderness Risk Management Conference. The award recognizes an individual who has made significant contributions in risk management to the outdoor education and adventure profession.

To nominate a wilderness risk manager for this prestigious award, please submit a letter of nomination that addresses the nominee’s contributions to risk management in the areas of leadership, service, and innovation. Submissions are due by July 29, 2016.

Charles (Reb) Gregg is a practicing attorney in Houston, Texas, who specializes in outdoor adventure and education law. He serves on the board of directors of The Student Conservation Association (SCA) and The Friends of Big Bend National Park, as a member of the Wilderness Risk Management Conference steering committee, and on the accreditation council of the Association for Experiential Education. Reb is also legal counsel to a number of organizations, including summer camps, secondary and college outdoor programs, challenge courses, and outfitters.

“Reb has truly been the pioneer in the practice of law as it relates to outdoor education and recreation”, said John Gans, the executive director of the National Outdoor Leadership School (NOLS). “His leadership and uncanny ability to balance legal necessities and ethical obligation have made him the role model for the industry. The Charles (Reb) Gregg Award is an appropriate way of honoring Reb’s professional legacy.”

Reb has been instrumental in the development of the Wilderness Risk Management Conference, and his contributions include presenting at nearly every Conference in years past and serving on the WRMC Steering Committee.

2016 winner Jay A. Satz


2015 winner David Johnson


2014 winner Ross Cloutier

2013 winner Drew Leemon

2012 winner Deb Ajango

2011 winner Lewis Glenn

2010 winner Tod Schimelpfenig

2009 winner Jed Williamson

Wilderness Risk Management Award in Honor of Charles (Reb) Gregg Press Release

2013 award recipient, Drew Leemon, with Reb Gregg at the WRMC 2013 in Grand Teton National Park, WY.

NOLS Top of Page
NOLS Home About Us Courses Wilderness Medicine Institute NOLS Professional Training Alumni Store Donate Account NOLS Home Parents Press Room School Resources Photos NOLS.TV Events WRMC The NOLS Blog Introduction About Leadership History Mission & Values Profiles Partnerships Frequent Questions Find a Course Skills School Locations School Locations Leave No Trace Financial Aid Academic Credit Find a Course Skills School Locations Course Types Leave No Trace Financial Aid Academic Credit NOLS Pro Home 1-3 Day Courses 7-30 Day Courses Risk Management Staff Clients Design Your Course Contact NOLS Pro NOLS Pro 1-3 Days 7-30 Days Risk Management Clients Contact Us NOLS Pro Design Your Course NOLS Pro Staff Overview Outcome-based Curriculum Faculty Overview Outcome-based Curriculum Faculty Case Studies Overview Administrative Training Staff Training Consulting Conference: WRMC How to Apply Apply Online Download an Application Admission Policies WMI Home About WMI Courses Schedule FAQ Photos & Movies Curriculum Updates Employment Sponsors WMI Home About WMI Admissions Courses Schedule Host a Course Resources Gallery Alumni Home Trips and Events The Leader Alumni Chapters Employment Staying in Touch Volunteer Photos & Videos Home NOLS Photos NOLS.TV The NOLS Podcast NOLS on Flickr Leave No Trace Overview Leave No Trace Principles Leave No Trace Master Educator Courses Host a Course Contact Map of Events Dream Expedition Leadership Week Press Room Images for the Press Archives